Trinis are Caribbean T20 2011 champions

Bridgetown, Barbados – Trinidad & Tobago are Caribbean Twenty20 2011 champions. They played like champions and comprehensively disposed of the best English Twenty20 side – Hampshire Royals by 36 runs.

Hampshire faltered and fumbled to 111 for 8 as the Trinis applied the bowling vice on their run chase.

Star of the Match Darren Bravo hit a bazooka 41 from 28 balls to lead the Trinis to 147 for 7 from 20 overs as they got off to a blistering start, racing to 79 in the 10th over when the super-talented left hander got out to left arm spinner Danny Briggs (4-0-9-2) whose frugal bowling led the Royals.

Bravo unleashed five exquisitely delightful fours and a pair of sixes as he entertained the over 7000 Kensington Oval crowd with delectable strokeplay.

After T&T slipped in the middle and found themselves short by the 18th over, stand-in captain Denesh Ramdin rammed in 33 runs from 19 balls. Ramdin took over from inspirational captain Daren Ganga who missed the final with a split webbing on his left hand.

The Hampshire run chase was blunted from the inception when Ravi Rampaul (4-1-25-) started with a maiden then Samuel Badree bowled power hitter Johannes Myburgh for a second ball duck. After that the Englishmen never really challenged as the Jason Mohammed (2.1-0-6-2) provided a surprise spin package in collaboration with the unrelenting spin-seam attack.

Benjamin Howell tried but it was mostly in vain, labouring to a top score of 28 from 31 balls with a pair of fours as the curtain was brought down on a high energy Caribbean Twenty20 with the Trinis leaping to victory after the improbable 42 runs from the last over was not even challenged.

T&T have now joined Guyana as the only regional Twenty20 double champions.

Sun, 01/23/2011 - 21:04